Documentation of riter.co — project management tool
How to manage sprints in Riter
While working on a project and planning new tasks you may need to order and group them according to some principles. For example, you will need to split tasks among future releases or product development stages. Or you may want to visually separate tasks of different teams working on the same project. Here’s where sprints will come in handy.
Open a necessary project and click on the "Settings" icon in the main menu. Then choose the "Sprints" tab in the submenu. Click on the "Add sprint" to create a new sprint.
You can archive sprints to hide them from the main project page. This can be useful when all included tasks are finished, or deadlines have expired, or you have suspended work on them for some other reason. After you archive a sprint, approved tasks from it won't be shown on the main project page anymore. Instead, you will find them in the "Archived stories". Behavior of the not approved tasks from the archived sprints depends on the project settings which can be changed from the "Admin panel".
All new sprints become active and appear at the bottom of the list of existing active sprints. You can reorder sprints by drag-and-dropping them up and down the list. The order of sprints corresponds to the order of their display on the main project page.
Sprints are displayed on the main project page as separate horizontal sections with tasks inside them, each sprint with its own name and settings icon. Each sprint section has its own "New story" element to schedule a task at once for a certain sprint. You are able to drag&drop tasks within a sprint and between different sprints.
From the very beginning, you have the only unnamed sprint for all current tasks. If you add at least one new sprint, an "Unscheduled" sprint section also appears for all unscheduled tasks. "Unscheduled" section is always shown under all your sprint sections. All new stories created with a submenu element "New story" will be placed to the “Unscheduled” section by default.
If you archive a sprint with unapproved tasks, by default, all these tasks will appear in another default sprint section — “Overdue” (unless somebody changes this behavior). This group of tasks is always displayed on top of the page. It disappears when all included tasks are approved (or rescheduled on other sprints).
In the "Admin panel", choose a necessary project and open its settings to change the behavior of unapproved tasks when a sprint which they belong to is archived. This can be done in the "Display overdue" section. By default, when a sprint is archived, all tasks which are scheduled on this sprint but are not approved yet, will get into the “Overdue” section. If you clear the "Display overdue stories" checkbox, all stories will fall into “Archived stories” at once (whatever their state is). You will be able to find all the stories there and continue working on them when necessary.